Introduction to Ayer

Nestled on the hillside, above the road that dates from the late nineteenth century, Ayer is characterized by its wooden structures grouped around the church.

   Map of Ayer

 

Mentioned for the first time in the late thirteenth century, with the spellings Ayert, Ayers and Ayeir, the village has the same etymology as Agarn ( maple ).

According to legend, the old village of Ayer, called “Venèze,” was near the location of the quarry at the Pont du Bois. A woman wishing to finish her laundry, refused to go to mass in Vissoie, on the day of Saint-Thomas. Following this disrespectful gesture, a landslide completely destroyed the village.

Today, the village has a hundred or so inhabitants. Social life remains rich with several associations, including the Bourgeoisie, the « Société de développement », the « Société du village », the « Société du tir » and the « Coopérative du Rothorn ». The choir called “La Cecilia”, created in 1925 to animate mass at church should also be listed as well as the Fife and Drum band created in 1958. In 1960, the Parish bought the canteen formerly used by the construction workers of the Mottec power station, and gradually created the parish hall ( Foyer Lyrette ). The « Association Ayer pour demain », founded in 1997, organizes the Moyes Camp for children ; and the « Société de la patinoire » ( skating rink ) which succeeded the Hockey Club of Ayer, whose promotion to higher league, in 1972, was an opportunity to bring the whole village around this event.

In 2002, at the initiative of the « Société de développement d’Ayer » a project called Chemin des nourritures ( the Path of foods ) was set up in Ayer and Mission in order to make the built heritage of the two villages better known.

The historic route allows visitors to discover this typical village and its unimaginable treasures, that can’t be seen from the main road. Take time and walk through these beautiful alleys.